🔒
breach
.co.nz
· the NZ & Australia breach register
Register
By sector
Learn
Quiz
Graph
Methodology
Alerts
About
🛡️ A Govern service
☰
By sector
› Finance
💳 Finance — data breaches
9 records in the finance sector across New Zealand and Australia.
Finance sector · leaderboard
Own the Finance leaderboard
The top banner across the Finance overview and every Finance record — one advertiser, exclusively.
Own this leaderboard → breach@govern.co.nz
Thankyou Payroll — Metabase Global Incident
🇳🇿 New Zealand
· breach 2026-08-06
● Disclosed
People affected
Not disclosed
Data taken
Names, IRD (tax file) numbers, Email addresses
Regulator
NZ-Privacy-Commissioner
Trust tier
Confirmed
Source: Thankyou Payroll ·
View record →
youX
🇦🇺 Australia
· breach 2026-02
● Disclosed
People affected
444,538 (approx)
Data taken
Home addresses, income and debt details, government IDs (including about 5,010 driver-licence numbers in a preview), broker-customer SMS, vehicle identifiers, employee password hashes and financial-hardship notes
Regulator
OAIC notified
Trust tier
Reported
Source: Information Age (ACS) ·
View record →
Sponsored placement
Reach decision-makers, in-feed
Native placement alongside the breaches your buyers are already reading.
Enquire → breach@govern.co.nz
Australian superannuation funds (coordinated attack)
🇦🇺 Australia
· breach 2025-03
● Disclosed
People affected
Not disclosed
Data taken
Member account access via credential stuffing; some funds reportedly withdrawn (~$500k reported)
Regulator
ASIC / APRA (engaged)
Trust tier
Reported
Source: SBS News ·
View record →
Finsure
🇦🇺 Sydney, NSW
· breach 2024-10
● Disclosed
People affected
Not disclosed
Data taken
Names, email addresses, phone numbers and physical addresses
Regulator
none
Trust tier
Reported
Source: The Adviser ·
View record →
Squirrel
🇳🇿 New Zealand
· breach 2024-07
● Disclosed
People affected
600 (approx)
Data taken
Name, date of birth, and passport or driver-licence ID numbers (held by a third-party ID-verification onboarding system)
Regulator
none reported
Trust tier
Reported
Source: RNZ ·
View record →
Firstmac
🇦🇺 Brisbane, QLD
· breach 2024-04
● Disclosed
People affected
Not disclosed
Data taken
Name, date of birth, address, email and phone number, External bank account details (BSB and account number) and driver licence number
Regulator
OAIC (notifiable)
Trust tier
Reported
Source: Bitdefender ·
View record →
Latitude Financial
🇦🇺 Melbourne, VIC (AU + NZ operations)
· breach 2023-03
● Under investigation
People affected
14,000,000 (approx)
Data taken
Driver licence numbers (~7.9M across AU & NZ), Passport numbers, financial statements and other personal details
Regulator
OAIC + NZ Privacy Commissioner (joint)
Trust tier
Confirmed
Source: OAIC ·
View record →
P&N Bank
🇦🇺 Perth, WA
· breach 2019-12
● Disclosed
People affected
100,000 (approx)
Data taken
Names, addresses, email addresses, age, customer and account numbers, and account balances; the bank said funds, government-ID numbers and ID documents were held separately and not accessed
Regulator
WA Police / federal authorities
Trust tier
Reported
Source: BleepingComputer ·
View record →
LandMark White
🇦🇺 Sydney, NSW
· breach 2019-01
● Before the courts
People affected
Not disclosed
Data taken
Property-valuation records containing borrowers' and owners' personal contact details; about 137,500 valuation records exposed and later leaked on a dark-web forum
Regulator
NSW Police Cybercrime Squad (arrest and charges)
Trust tier
Reported
Source: iTnews ·
View record →
G
GOVERN
Tabletop Exercises · Govern house
Rehearse the breach before it reaches the balance sheet.
Book a Discovery Call →